Thursday, April 14, 2016

A Solstice Celebration ( A Wicked Witches of the Midwest Short) by Amanda M Lee

I have loved every book of this series and I think it is great that the author provides short novellas between the release of the full books. This keeps me anticipating the next book coming out. 

This novella takes us back to when Bay, Clove, and Thistle are in their teens. Adding their antics in with Aunt Tilly and there is a never ending supply of fun and mischief. 

I enjoyed learning more about the characters when they were younger and also seeing that Aunt Tilly has been the same forever and will never change. :)

Looking forward to the release of the next book in this series. 

Heaven Sent (Heaven's Rejects MC Book 1) by Avelyn Paige

      This book was the first I have read by this author and let me just say I am hooked. I anxiously await book 2 in the series. 

The characters in the book are well thought out and the story takes you to the end and leaves you wanting more as you read the last page. I could picture the bikes, the bikers and the way their club was set up. 

And I must say the cover art to the book .....nice :)

My favorite character out of the book is Dani. She is strong and she knows what she wants even though sometimes things don't always work out the way they should. 

I recommend this book and will be reading book 2 when it is available in June 2016!

Monday, April 4, 2016

Awaken Me (Jaded Series Book 4) by Alex Grayson

I knew before I even started this book that it would make me an emotional wreck. The previous books have hinted here and there to the love/hate relationship that Nick and Chris have. I decided to read the book anyway knowing that I would cry through most of it so I kept the tissues handy.

This book....Nick and of the book ripped my heart out and stomped on it. I felt like I couldn't breathe and like I was actually there and it was happening to me. And then I got the warm fuzzy feeling that everything would work out....and wham I got hit again....

I went from loving Nick, to hating him and hoping he would get hit by a truck, then I felt sorry for him and alas loved him again. 

Chris...I felt so sorry for the things that she went through and yet in my mind I kept screaming for her to hold on longer and fight harder for this relationship was meant to be. 

By the time I reached the end of the book, my emotions were all over the place. I felt as if I lost my best friend and then found her again. Every character has a place etched in my heart. They are like family to me. 

The Author....after reading all 4 of the books in this series, I can say they are amazing...each one took hold of me and would not let go til the end. 

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Reclaim Me (Jaded Series Book 2) by Alex Grayson

Reclaim Me is book 2 in the Jaded Series by Alex Grayson. First off I was captured by the title of the book. To me it screams starting over. This was another book that I could not put down, the further I read the more I wanted to know. Again the descriptive details of the author come through in this book and the characters begin to feel like family. This book has very emotional moments as well and shows just how far some people will go to destroy the happiness of others. Mac and Mia are two of my favorite characters in Jaded Hollow and I am excited that this book is about them. After finishing this book I am anxious to see what the future holds for Mac, Mia and Trent. 

Shatter Me (The Jaded Series Book 1) by Alex Grayson

Shatter Me is book 1 of the Jaded Series by Alex Grayson. 
This book is definitely not for the faint of heart. I loved every minute of reading this book, even though sometimes it took me back to a dark place from years before. The things that the characters in this book have gone through are described so well, you feel like you are right there with them. If you have ever been a victim of any type of domestic abuse, you will be captivated by this book. I can say if you are still having problems over your own domestic situation just know that while reading this book it may bring the pain and the hurt back to you. With that being said the author also lets you know there is always a way to escape and possibly live a life that is free from the abuse and the terror. Shatter me is a one of a kind book and the first I have read by this author. I am happy to say that I will definitely be looking forward to the rest of the series. 

Thursday, January 21, 2016

The Skeleton in the Closet by Angie Fox

I dare say this book was even better than the first one. Ellis and Verity have yet another murder to solve and with the help of Frankie the Ghost, anything can happen. We also are shown just how far people will go to preserve what they believe are  historical artifacts. 
I love the way the author brings the characters to life throughout the book with her great detail. I can't wait until the next book is released. 

Monday, January 18, 2016

Sins of the Father by Samantha Bayarr

Sins of the Father is the second book in the Pigeon Hollow series. This book was just as good if not better than the first. 
Sins run deep even in the Amish community. Just when I thought there couldn't be another twist in the story, there was. 
I am anxious for the third book to come out so I can see what happens with these characters. 

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Southern Spirits By Angie Fox

This is the first book I have read by this author and it is safe to say it will not be the last.

The author gives great detail to the characters of the book whether they are alive or dead. 
Adding in the mystery aspect of the book makes this a great read. I am very anxious to see where Ellis and Verity end up in the next book. 
Also I just love the thought of having a skunk for a pet.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

The Amish Girl by Samantha Bayarr

As the first book in the series, it  is a great combination of Amish and mystery. I think the author did a wonderful job in the writing and details of this book. I actually feel like I am right there with the characters and all of their emotions. 

Samantha always shows how no matter what you have to overcome, as long as you keep your faith, God will always make things better. 

I am anxiously awaiting book two in this series so I can see what else is in store for the characters of Pigeon Hollow. 

Promise Lodge By Charlotte Hubbard

I was so excited when I received a copy of this book for review. Charlotte Hubbard is one of my favorite Amish authors. This book is the beginning of a new series and had me captivated until the very end. 

The new Amish Colony called Promise Lodge is a place for everyone to feel safe. The sisters who decided to go on this journey have made a wonderful decision. The characters in the book are very well thought out and all have strong backgrounds. I love the way that each person's story comes together with the rest of the people when they all find that Promise Lodge is where God is calling them. 

The author also takes you through a multitude of emotions throughout the book and I think that is what makes for a very captivated audience. I am looking forward to the next book in this series. 

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Sorry I haven't updated in a bit. We had so much going on getting ready for the Holidays. My sister and I have started our crocheting site and hope to make it into a good home business. :)